Why Don’t You Like Me?

Mika’s Song, Grace Kelly, is on my mind right now:

“I could be brown
I could be blue
I could be violet sky
I could be hurtful
I could be purple
I could be anything you like
Gotta be green
Gotta be mean
Gotta be everything more
Why don’t you like me?
Why don’t you like me?
Walk out the door!”

I keep submitting my interest in singing to various folks and groups, but I keep getting rejected. More in the form of never hearing anything back.

It hurts.

Why don’t they like me???

I know a lot of performers have to get used to rejection. Auditions aren’t nearly as comprehensive as anyone auditioning wants them to be. They (whoever “they” may be) say it’s more about who you know than it is about how talented you are, anyway.

Also I tell myself, this is God’s way of telling you this is not the right experience for you, or it was meant for someone else.

Then I think about the question, “is what you’re doing getting you what you want?”

Maybe I’m approaching my dream to sing the wrong way. Maybe I’m approaching all my dreams in way that won’t get me there.

I think I will make a dream board. I’ve heard they are a good exercise in helping people more clearly visualize what they want. It would be good to get it out of my head, for sure.

Have you made one? Has it helped you?

If you’re reading, please comment! Comments don’t show up until I approve them (control freak that I am, I can’t handle mean comments auto posting).

Thanks for reading.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

