Bebe Boy

Our Little One (or, LO, as called by mothers on the myriad sites they write about their babies) is now 6.5 weeks old.  That’s funny to realize as he was born weighing 6 lbs. 5 oz.

This sweet miracle happened on 5/22/13 at 4:35 a.m.:

Image

Folks who say there is absolutely nothing you can do to prepare for a baby are correct. We were very well prepared for the many needed items to care for him, but wow, once we met him, we were overwhelmed with love beyond anything we’d ever known.

To see his face after carrying him for so long and then delivering him (yep, painful, but worth it), oh my stars. There are no words.

Now I get why so many of my friends were so excited for me. In the time our boy was born, other friends have given birth, others have announced genders of those I knew were on the way, and more have announced their pregnancies.  I have a new vantage point on what they’re going through. I want to cook meals, visit, and hold babies with this newly-born perspective of what they’re going through.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

He’s grown and grown these past 6 weeks, and it is a miracle that my body is the sole source of food for him.  What a crazy experience!

Everyone loves him. His two sets of grandparents are crazy about him. He got to meet his remaining set of great-grandparents, too. His cousins, aunts, and uncles are so thrilled he’s here, too. We’ve been able to travel with him on family vacations already (pediatrician said it was okay!), which has been wonderful for the extra help. His daddy continues to be a huge support to me, as I am sometimes still overwhelmed by my 24-hr job.

I have so many hopes for him.  I want him to be a good person.  I want him to be a good friend to others.  I want him to always love us and be able to trust us to love him no matter what mistakes he might make. I want him to make mistakes and learn from them, and fail so he can appreciate success.  I want him to be curious and intelligent.  I want him to know and trust in God.

I love being a parent so far.  I feel so lucky I want to pinch myself to see if it’s true. I love seeing my husband be a father to our boy.

My dear boys, I love you both so much.

Image

One thought on “Bebe Boy

  1. Love love love! He’s so adorable! And I have no doubts that you and Josef will raise him to be all that you want him to be and more… Sending hugs and kisses and cuddles (and something in the mail soon too!)….

Leave a Reply

