Hawks

I just remembered something else I’ve noticed recently.

The Monday after Josef’s grandmother passed away, I saw a hawk fly pretty low over the parking garage as I walked to my car after my doctor’s appointment for the baby’s 30 week prenatal check up. I love seeing hawks, and something about seeing this hawk, which was less than 20 feet away from me, made me feel at peace.

The next morning, as I drove to work, it happened again! A hawk flew right over my car as I got onto the interstate.  It took my breath away and again, I felt a sense of peace wash over me, even though I didn’t realize I had been feeling uneasy.

Both times, I thought about the baby and about Josef’s grandmother. 

Then I got distracted and forgot about it for a few days.  Then I saw another hawk and thought, hmm, I’ve seen a lot of hawks lately! 

Ever the researcher, I searched online what it means to see a hawk fly from left to right (as the first two I saw had done).  Apparently, according to Nordic and Native American folklore, seeing a hawk flight left to right can symbolize victory, and having a hawk “come to you” or “come close to you” means you’ve been blessed!  I’ll take all the victory and blessings we can get right now!

Leave a Reply

