Well, hello there

Hey all 7 readers. How’s it going?

I realized I had a free evening tonight, and I knew exactly what I wanted to do: write a blog post!

I’ve been really busy the last while. We went to the beach, and after the beach it was back to work, and then we had many days of preparation for Josef’s birthday party as well as spending about a week celebrating Josef’s birthday. Makes sense, given his birthday was on a Wednesday that we spent both bookend weekends celebrating!

We had the third annual Augustfest, Josef’s birthday party. It was a ton of work (mostly on Josef’s end, admittedly) to get ready, but boy was it fun! I’ll post some pics later as Josef has them on his computer.

A month ago, we were on Edisto Island having Freeman family time! It was a lot of fun, but the time passed by too quickly. I love my family so much, and it’s interesting to realize the range of emotions I experience around my family. Mostly it’s happy — as I said, I love my family! But it’s also just astounding how quickly our nieces and nephew have grown. They are already calling the shots as the next generation. I joked with my sisters that there was a lot of “sassing” on this beach trip, as the ten-year-old and two eight-year-olds had definite ideas about what they wanted to do. I know they treasure this time together. Our nephew, Freeman (my sister’s and my maiden name), is five, and he’s a trip! I really think he’s a Justin Timberlake in training. He has some great dance moves! As I mentioned, the time passed way too quickly, so I feel sad that I didn’t get to talk to my family members as much as I thought I would have. Josef seemed to really enjoy himself, which also made me happy. My favorite day was when Josef and I went sea kayaking. It was really river kayaking, but it was amazing and educational, actually! We learned a lot, and it was a feast for the eyes and soul being out on the water in such a beautiful setting. I didn’t want to leave Edisto!

Being back at work after the week off was honestly difficult. I felt like so much had changed in a week, even though I realized after a while that it was only my perception that things had changed. I think it was getting away and gaining some perspective on my work transition. I am actually really sad about leaving my old job, but I know as time goes on, it will get better. I actually had an email this past Friday about how they were talking about filling my position, but if I wanted to come back, to let them know. It caused a lot of emotions to stir up. It was hard to think about it all over again — I thought everyone knew I was really gone, so the presentation of the possibility to return caused me to pause and consider: did I make the right decision. It was with a tearfully composed response to their email that I replied that I would only be in the same position I was in before, so I know in that aspect, I made the right decision. And my old workplace was once unfamiliar to me, as my new one is, and I grew to love the old one. I need to give my new workplace time to grow on me. I also know that I won’t have to scramble to fill in the gaps of time I had to fill in my old position (it was 8 months out of the year, the other 4 being filled by the grace of God through various other assignments at the school). I will visit my old school this week because my new school recruits students from there — it’s going to be weird! I am really worried that I will dissolve into tears! I am praying to be strong.

That’s all for now. I’m okay, I’ve just been busier than normal. I’m really looking forward to Labor Day Weekend. I’m ready to welcome in the cool days of autumn.

Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “Well, hello there

  1. Thanks for the update! Those kiddos in the family sure do grow up fast. My niece and nephews are now 13, 10 and 7. Crazytown!

    You’re definitely right that your new workplace will get better. I haaaaate starting new jobs, and even after I left my last job, which got really horrible, I wondered if they would take me back since I had being the new person and not knowing how to do anything. It’ll all work itself out!

Leave a Reply

