Self-fulfilling Prophesies

At my birthday party this past Friday night, I had two friends in attendance who each declared a very strong statement indicating they were waiting for the other shoe to drop. In other words, things are good for them now, but they don’t expect for things to stay that way.

My reaction to both friends was alarm!

Don’t say that! I told them. It will really happen if you think it will!

Yet, I am equally guilty, especially when I am feeling down.

Yesterday I got really down on myself thinking about my rather splintered career. I’ve worked at the same place over 5 years and haven’t really don’t what one would call advance. That’s because I don’t really work in just one department. And now because of my interest in working with the kids at the school, I am regarded as a bit of a hybrid of faculty and staff.

I’ve expanded my career, but not advanced it.

I am totally becoming one of those sad old people who tells younger people that I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. It always depressed me when I heard adults say that, and it depresses me to read myself writing it now.

That’s a self-fullfilling prophesy, if you didn’t pick up on it.

I need to focus instead on what I’ve done well.

I’ve had a few great ideas at work lately.

I successfully organized and ran a big event for my a cappella group.

I got a sweet thank you note from a student I coached.

I am thanked by those whom I help at work. It’s my job, but I enjoy it when they appreciate what I do for them.

I auditioned for a show. It might not have worked out, but I did audition for a show, which is more than I could say before.

Aside from naming successes, I have been having these thoughts about myself, when I haven’t always had them in the past.

I feel motivated to sing and trust my voice.

I can trust myself to do what needs to get done. And I can give myself a break when I deserve one. And I am allowed to be mad because pretending to not be mad hasn’t worked very well my whole life.

I want my self-fulling prophesy to be about becoming a better me so I can really help others.

One thought on “Self-fulfilling Prophesies

  1. I really like the place that you’re at right now. I’m also going through some changes, mostly just realizing that no, I do not want to work in the accounting/reception dept of a company the rest of my life. Good things are coming around the bend!

Leave a Reply

