Still got it

Josef tasked me with finishing a painting I started about a year and half ago. My deadline? Our trip next month. So, I’ve got three weeks to complete a huge painting.

I had been inspired by some of Putumayo’s cover art, such as:

Putumayo World Music – The Cover Art:

What many people first notice about the Putumayo collection is the bright and colorful cover art. All of Putumayo’s CD covers have been created by an artist named Nicola Heindl. Her art is both folky and modern, and, according to the Putumayo website, “represents one of Putumayo’s goals: to connect the traditional to the contemporary.’ ”  —

Putumayo World Music, by the way, is a great way to learn not only about the rest of the world’s music, but to feel more connected to the rest of the world. They even have a blog that you should check out: http://www.putumayo.com/blog/.

Feeling inspired by Nicola Heindl’s work, and being true to my own style, I’ve started (well, RE-started) a painting of a set of islands. I love the pictures of Santorini in Greece:

I envisioned a bit of a Utopia, with all kinds of cool buildings that somehow stay on a hillside (like above) with Caribbean colors, including the water:

Here’s the start of my painting. I took it with my phone, so it’s not exactly an accurate picture of the colors, but you can get the idea. I haven’t yet decided on whether or not I want people to be in my painting as that has never been my strength. I also decided to paint with acrylics rather than oil (my preferred medium) due to the time constraints. Will be going out later to fetch the rest of the colors I need. I’ve started with my “underpainting” — as much as one can underpaint with acrylics, anyway! It’s a bit of a departure from my usual style – more “fun and whimsical” like Hiendl has inspired me to try than exactly accurate in color and form. We’ll see how it turns out.

It’s a start! And it felt so good to actually be painting. I’ll try to keep my updates flowing!

One thought on “Still got it

Leave a Reply

