i like you, girl

I’ve spent one-on-one time with three different friends in the last 24 hours. I do consider Josef my best friend, but I definitely need girl time in my life. I know it’s good to have my a cappella group and women’s Bible study for girl time, and I work with a lot of great women, but I really miss having a best friend who’s a girl. Luckily, I have lots of really great friends that I can go hang out like I have been doing the last day, but I do miss having someone that I have to call every day to tell her something, and vice versa. So, it is good that Josef can serve that role for me along with general husband role things that he does and that I love him for.

The first friend I went to see yesterday, B, has been going through a really hard time lately. I was happy to be able to go hang out with her. She is really funny and it’s good to see what great mother she is to her son. It makes me hope that I will be a good mom when that time comes for us. I think she is recovering from the sadness in her life and is really grateful for the support she finds through her husband and his family and our church.

Next, I hung out with an Octave friend, N. She and I have been jonesing over a need for some Sonic. As in the drive-in fast food place. I hadn’t been in about three years, maybe even longer. We had a great time at Sonic and I am glad that I got the need to eat there out of my system! Did you know that when you pay at the Sonic screen with a debit card, it screens you with the question, “Do you know your PIN?” Too funny.

Today I walked with my friend I mentioned who ran the marathon and dedicated a mile to a person who had experienced cancer. We walked for two hours! We hadn’t hung out in a long time, and we clearly had a lot of catching up to do! It felt great to walk for so long, too. She mentioned that she doesn’t like when other women call her “girl.” I told her about the guy I dated (and broke up with over instant messenger) who could not bring himself to say “I love you.” Instead he would say, “I like you, girl.” It just constantly rubbed me the wrong way. When I did finally break up with him (over instant messenger!) he told me that he really had wanted to tell me that he loved me. Hope he had better luck with the next girl he dated with his awesome proclaimations of love. 🙂

So it felt good to get in some quality girl time and to also know what a good friend I also have in my husband.

Now I get to get ready for a fun weekend getaway with Josef, my BFF. 🙂

One thought on “i like you, girl

Leave a Reply

