Pet Peeves

Are pet peeves labeled as such because we enjoy the things that annoy us? Maybe individualized peeves should be the term instead.

Well, whatever the case, I have peeves. And, admittedly, they are dumb and I am embarrassed at the enormity I give them credit for having.

For instance: in our admissions work, we push a lot of paper. On one part of the application, there’s a space for a picture. The instructions clearly say “attach a recent photo.” This year, we also added a phrase inside the box that says “Please attach a recent photograph to this space.” As in, don’t be lazy or assume we’ll tape a picture to your application for you. Last year, probably 50% of the applications had pictures that were not freakin’ attached. So, of course, nice people that we are, we stop what we’re doing and attach the picure. EVEN THOUGH IT MAKES ME WANT TO SCREAM.

Again, I didn’t say I was proud of this pet peeve.

Another example: in restrooms, when previous occupants either splash water everywhere or leave a huge mess. Well, this one I’m not apologizing for. There’s no excuse. Why do you need to fling water around and leave paper towels everywhere? Are you acting out a play in there?

Or, in public, when people leave trays of food or drinks or whatever just sitting around. After they’ve left. As my 6th grade teacher’s podium proclaimed: Your mother doesn’t work here.

Yeah, that’s because a custodian does. And you just made his or her life harder. Jerk. Yes, someone’s paid to clean up after you, but you can certain muster up enough energy to pick up after yourself. Leave your mess to the privacy of your own home like I do. šŸ˜‰

Last pet peeve – and this one embarrasses me because it makes me judgmental – grammar. Particularly when it comes to the use of “I” and “me.” As Mr. Johnson puts it:

“Nominative case pronouns are I, she, he, we, they, and who. They are used as subjects, predicate nominatives, and appositives when used with a subject or predicate nominative. Objective case pronouns are me, her, him, us, them, and whom.”

A lot of the kids – and some of the adults I know – start sentences on a frequent basis with “Me and (fill in name) are going to go do that.” Um, would you say “Me is going to go that?” or, would you say “I am going to do that?” I think you know the answer.

Then there’s the overcorrection of using “I” as an objective rather than nominative. I made this mistake and was swiftly corrected twice, so it’s bugged me ever since:

Incorrect: The teacher gave the test to Larry and I.

Correct: The teacher gave the test to Larry and me.

How can you check? Test it without Larry: The teach gave the test to ME. The teacher can’t give a test to I. Because so many people say it, it sounds proper to say “to Larry and I” but it isn’t grammatically correct.

When I see this or read it, it’s like PING PING PING – an alarm going off in my brain.

Again. I realize this is really dumb. I promise that 99% of the time, I correct myself when I want to correct others by telling myself the soothing mantra that it’s more important to be king than it is to be right.

And I realize that I do things that annoy other people. But I try really hard not to annoy other people, so that might be some people’s pet peeve about me. Who knows. Thanks for reading. I hope I haven’t given you new pet peeves, and please feel free to share your own! (Maybe don’t tell me my mistakes, though, okay? :))

One thought on “Pet Peeves

  1. I’m with you on the “me and I” one… Paul will say “Me and Socks…” from time to time- to which I always say “Socks isn’t mean!” And he gets annoyed….

    Another pet peeve- when people are wearing a coat or a skirt or something that has a small slit in the back and they haven’t clipped the little thread that the manufacturers put in to keep it neat and tidy during shipping, etc… Makes me want to carry scissors on the T and snip that darned thread for people!

    Signs that say ATM Machine bug me too šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

