More on contentment and gratitude

Something amazing has been going on in my little world since I posted last. I wrote about seeking contentment and gratitude. It seems that I’m not the only one with the need to explore these topics.

At school, I’m an adviser for a few Bible studies that meet before school (they are student lead, but they require an adult figure in the room). At church, I’m in a young adult women’s Bible study and I’m a youth adviser, too. Guess what topic has come up at each of these meetings? Being content and being grateful for our many gifts and blessings.

At our women’s Bible study, we talked about the things we put trust in other than God (false strongholds), and how we know they are false when we figure out that they don’t bring contentment!

From listing the things for which we’re grateful to learning not to covet things that aren’t yours by actually being happy with what you have, the student leaders of the Bible studies I oversee have certainly been experiencing some similar feeling in relation to gratitude and being content.

Last night at youth group, under the topic of community building (my favorite!) we discussed the passage from I Corinthians chapter 12 in which Paul describes the body of Christ needing all of its parts to work together, and we celebrated our individual gifts and spent some time contemplating gratitude for the people who enabled us to act on our interests and grow them.

Wow. I feel like I’ve been hit over the head with this pairing of topics spiritually- and mentally-speaking.

Why talk about contentment and gratitude now? Why not at Thanksgiving?

I guess it has to do with the beginning of the school year as well as the ending of the summer. We all just find ourselves busy busy busy all of a sudden, and that sets us up for a lot of complaining. Where is the laid back person I was two months ago? Why is everyone so busy now? Why don’t I have time to do things I enjoy? I think we’re all asking these questions.

Fortunately, we can self-regulate and call a time-out. Other times, our loved ones call time-out for us. The proverbial Stopping to Smell the Roses is a necessary balancing step when we’re headlong into a certain crash. I aim to look at the world not only for what it could be, but also for the good that is already here.

Leave a Reply

