You see these chompers?

Cavity-free!
Cavity-free!

Cavity Free!

I do not advocate for such reckless behavior as not going to the dentist for 5 years, but I guess I have my grandmother Alice to thank for such good dental genes. When she passed away at 88 years old, she still had all of her teeth, with no fillings or crowns or whatnot.

I don’t have an excuse for not going to the dentist. I’ve never been afraid of the dentist, having grown up going to see Dr. Thorne for my first 18 years, every 6 months like clockwork. I’d also like to thank the public education system for making me swish with fluoride every month I was in elementary school.

I was convinced that I would have ten or so cavities when the x-rays were revealed. The fact that I didn’t have a single one is quite baffling, and those the dentist office did not once commend me for taking such good care of my own teeth for 5 years. There was a lot of “Yeah, but you still need to come in” thrown my way. Maybe they felt threatened. Secretly, I think they went home and told their families of the wonder they witnessed today. (Don’t worry, I am not letting it get to my head. I have already scheduled my 6 month cleaning, because, let me reiterate, I am not scared of the dentist office).

Confession: I’ve had one cavity, and that was in a baby tooth, and I don’t remember which tooth it was, if I was due to pull it out shortly thereafter, or what. So my record is a little blemished.

Even though my teeth are in great health, I am not going to start doing daredevil feats of strength to prove their strength, like bending coins with my teeth or towing cars. No, I’ll still be my paranoid self, wondering, upon waking in the middle of the night, if I brushed my teeth, and if I am not sure, I’ll go brush. I actually find tooth brushing therapeutic. I brush for waaaay past the 2 minute rule as a result.

Enough with the gloating. I am just amazed and relieved that nothing was required of the dentist other than reviewing the x-rays and then getting a thorough cleaning. I have some exposed dentin in some places, but they put varnish on those spots and told me to brush a little more lightly. I just plunked out money for new tires for my car, so I was worried that the dentist would be costing me even more money this week. Luck was on my side (or the benefits of keeping my mouth clean helped me out).

In other exciting news, I am auditioning for a play tomorrow for the first time in 5 years! Whooo! I have my resume 99% ready, my headshots ready to print, a well-rehearsed song and its sheet music, an outfit picked out, I know where the place is that I am going, etc. If I can sleep tonight and continue to stay hydrated and healthy, I should be good to go!

Here’s my headshot:

I had quite a few options, but this is the shot I secretly liked best. For further assistance, I asked for opinions on facebook and got the overwhelming majority of friends who voted for this one, too. I’ll post how it goes tomorrow! And let you know if I get cast! 🙂

One thought on “You see these chompers?

  1. Ah I bet we were at the dentist at the same time 🙂 I had no cavities either- although due to Junior they didn’t xray me this time around…

    Can’t wait to hear how your audition went- I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

