The Merry-Go-Round that is my mind

Yep, moving in circles these days. Lots going on in my head, none of which I can focus on.

Yesterday I went home sick from work. My stomach hurts still, and so does my head, but even while I was home trying to recover, I was and still am full of distractions. Yesterday was the day to make the Friendship Bread my sister sent me, otherwise I don’t know what would have happened to it. Also, I had the brilliant idea of clipping my dog’s nails myself – which I’ve never done before.

I got home and started working on Hunter’s nails. The front paws went exceptionally well, for which Hunter received ample praise and treats. I told him we’d take a break and do the back legs later. I washed my hands and got work on bread baking. All the while, I wasn’t feeling great. I also need to straighten up the house for Octave practice, which was to be at my house last night.

Hmm. Being sick + Baking bread + Needing to finish Hunter’s nails + Needing to straighten up the house + other miscellaneous worries too petty to name = disastrous things are bound to happen, right?

Right.

I followed the instructions on how to bake the bread, or so I thought. The details said to add all the ingredients together and then scoop some of it into a new baggie to keep the starter going. At least, that’s what I thought they said. I thought the starter looked different than what my sister sent me, but I couldn’t put my finger on why. I put the bread in the oven to bake and turned to my dog so we could take care of those long nails on his back legs.

The first one I clipped went fine. But then I clipped the next one, he yelped, and the blood came seeping out as I had struck his quick. Poor guy. I felt horrible! It kept bleeding for a little while. I tried to make him keep still, but he kept walking around. Then he lay on his side and chewed on the back nail, which, in addition to make it bleed worse, caused him to pull a muscle in his neck which made him limp on his front end. So he’s limping and bleeding all over the kitchen, and I’m trying to figure out if I should call the vet. I scold myself thoroughly and then decide his foot needs to be cleaned off a that point, and he need to stop inducing the bleeding. I put him in the bathtub with some water, rinsed his foot off, drained and wiped down the tub, and then made him lie down in the tub on some towels for a while.

Meanwhile the bread is baking. Fortunately, nothing bad happened during the baking process as it would have required me leaving Hunter upstairs with his blood foot. After a bit, I take a look at his foot and the nail seemed to be dried up. I took him back downstairs and checked on the bread, my heart breaking as Hunter limped around and stared up at me like, you hurt me, so feed me some treats to make me feel better.

That’s when I noticed a step on the instructions for the bread that I had completely missed. You’re SUPPOSED to add flour, sugar, and milk to the starter, then dole out the starter into 4 bags (to share with friends) and THEN proceed to adding the other ingredients. I am a knucklehead. So I really doubt my starter is any good as it has eggs in it. I had thought it was weird for the starter to have eggs in it, but hey, I was just following instructions, or so I thought.

I finally got to lie down for a little while, but I couldn’t sleep because I was worried about the dog, wondering why I had messed up the bread starter when I am actually literate, and I worried about rehearsal preparation. I pondered how I had made two mistakes in the span of 30 minutes. I thought about how much my husband is going to be out of town the next few weeks. I thought about how I need to schedule a dentist appointment and go get the oil changed in my car.

Mind, do you mind winding down a bit? You’re making me sick. I’d like to get off now, please.

One thought on “The Merry-Go-Round that is my mind

  1. oh poor Hunter! I’ve done that to Gabby too… She’s not a big fan of the nail clipping but I’m not fan of paying the Petco girl to do the same crappy job of it that I do!

    I hope both you and Hunter are feeling better!!!

Leave a Reply

