The craziness that is me. Or I?

Anyway, all grammatical quandaries aside, I just had some thoughts to share.

I overheard someone talking about Myers-Briggs today and remembered that when I took this Jungian personality test back in my senior year of college, I was classified as E/INTJ (Borderline Extrovert-Introvert, iNtuitive, Thinking, and Judging). But when I took it again recently, the results were ENFP (Extrovert, iNtuitive, Feeling, and Perceiving). Hmmm… At least I have Intuitive in common with the two results!

No matter which “type” of the two I actually am, there are some commonalities. There are all kinds of qualities I am supposed to have. I definitely feel the drive of both the excitement of being around people but also the excitement of my ideas. Just yesterday I started thinking about making clothes. Mind you, I’ve tried twice to learn how to use a sewing machine, once from my mother and once from my friend Emily. Neither time stuck, which is weird because usually I master new things that I have a strong interest in with relative ease – like with drawing, painting, singing, etc.

You see, I have this wee problem that I get these AWESOME, MIND-BLOWING ideas that I get sort of stuck on, and that’s all I can think about during the day. Right now, for instance, I am really excited about getting home and converting some old bridesmaid dresses into something else to wear – a shirt, a skirt, who knows? Of course, my limitation will be that I will HAVE to sew by hand. But that’s okay right now. The aforementioned wee problem occurs when my supermegaawesome idea takes several days to complete, rather than five minutes. I recently converted a coffee table my father and uncle built for me into an ottoman to match our bedding. It took me two weeks – not because it actually took two weeks to complete, but because I, the guilty culprit, got frustrated too much and wound up abandoning the project more than a few times. I will take a picture to post. There are picture framed that I was trying to cover with the leftover fabric from the ottoman, but that project is still not done.

I have other projects in my past that have not been completed. When my sister got pregnant with our first niece, I started a quilt for her. I had been in a play my freshman year of college, Quilters, and had grown to be fascinated with the idea of making a quilt. My junior year I started that quilt for her, then she was born, and I guess I graduated, and then I packed it up and moved to Boston (during which my friend Emily tried to teach me how to use the sewing machine to try to complete the durn thing), and moved back south to Atlanta, then moved 4 more times before now, when we bought a house. So, the niece turns 7 this year. Am I a horrible aunt or what? Now we have 3 nieces and a nephew. I just buy them things to win their affection rather than try to take on projects that will NEVER get done.

All the same, I am excited to get to work with my new idea. If I am successful, I’ll post pics here!

Leave a Reply

