I concur with Martti Ahtisaari

Who’s Martti Ahtisaari? He’s the former Finnish president, and he has just been announced at this year’s recipient for the Nobel Peace Prize.

To quote the CNN article on the points with which I concur:

  • “We cannot go on, year after year, simply pretending to do something to help the situation in the Middle East. We must also get results.”
  • “Peace is a question of will. Wars and conflicts are not inevitable,” he said, arguing that they are caused by people who have something to gain from them. “All conflicts can be settled.”

Let

There

Be

Peace

On

Earth

Thank you for your work, Martti Ahtisaari.

Jesteriffic

Jestering went well last night! I think I get more into it every year.

Two things I tend to forget about until I am actually jestering that I should remember next year (if I go for round 5!):

1. I jingle with every move I make. Every. Move.

2. I need to learn some medieval jokes.

I danced around with that silly (and heavy) boar’s head before everyone got there. Did I mention it was heavy? Heavier than I recall it being? And, thank goodness, it is now candle-less. It used to be surrounded by ten votives with tealight candles in them. And I danced with fire. Apparently, last year the banquet table got a little burned where I set down the Boar’s Head, due to some fake ivy dangling down into the Boar’s Head candles. Whoops! I am not so sure the head was as secure as it normally is, so I had to compensate for that, too, with my dance. Fortunately, I didn’t drop it and I didn’t pass out from lifting the tray over my head as I danced. It’s a mercifully short song.

No update on the house lights. It rained plus Josef got home later last night. It is quite dark at the moment and we’re under a tornado watch. Come to think of it, it does look a little, um, green outside. Ugh. It was cold enough to snow two days ago, and now we have a potential for tornadic activity. Wow, the south always has weather to talk about!

And, my latest addiction? The Shiba Inu Web Cam. So cute! At the time I write, it’s not on air, but it should be soon. There were 6 puppies originally at this breeder, but now there are 3. And they are so cute to watch! Makes me want to get a web cam so I can watch Hunter from work.